Culture at Work Africa – Promoting the Public Value of Culture for Social Cohesion and Urban Development in Africa is looking to support innovative on-the-ground projects aiming at developing safe and neutral spaces for intercultural dialogue and at promoting active citizenship and intercommunity relations. Projects will seek sustainable outputs and will foster multi-stakeholder national and transregional cooperation, inclusive societies, cultural diversity and equal dignity for all.

Culture at Work Africa is funded by the European Union within the priority areas for culture in the Global Public Goods and Challenges 2014-2020 programme (DCI): intercultural dialogue, cultural diversity and respect for the equal dignity of all individuals, which contributes to the overarching principles of the Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development such as global citizenship, pluralism and freedom of religion (SDGs 4, 10 and 17).

The present call contains two lots. Applications may be submitted in one of the following:

  • Lot 1: Projects aimed at enhancing public or private cultural spaces as “safe places” for intercultural dialogue by stakeholders active in the public sphere (e.g. organisations active in the social, educational or environmental fields, youth and cultural centres, schools, universities, libraries, local authorities, etc.).
  • Lot 2: Projects aimed at strengthening institutional and professional capacities in intercultural mediation of cultural organisations and operators for social cohesion.

For the two lots, grants requested must fall between a minimum of 20,000.00 EURO and a maximum of 60,000.00 EURO.

 The indicative amount available for the 2 lots is 1,000,000.00 EURO.

 Culture at Work Africa reserves the right not to award all available funds if submitted applications do not fill the selection criteria.

Lead applicants cannot submit more than one application.

For the purpose of this call, applications are eligible when presented by organisations (not-for-profit/profit; public/private) legally registered in one of the following countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Deadline for submission: Friday, 21 September 2018 at 12:00 (GMT)