Integrated Urban Development Framework for SA

The Integrated Urban Development Framework (IUDF) is a policy initiative of the Government of South Africa, coordinated by the Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA). The IUDF seeks to foster a shared understanding across government and society about how best to manage urbanisation and achieve the goals of economic development, job creation and improved living conditions in South African cities. The IUDF was produced through an iterative process of research and engagement since January 2013. Prof Edgar Pieterse serves as the chairperson of the Panel of Experts appointed by the Minister of CoGTA to support this policy initiative.

Situating the IUDF
The South African Cabinet adopted the draft IUDF in September 2014 for extensive public engagement that will continue for a year before it is finalised in November 2015. The IUDF was informed by feedback received on a discussion document published in October 2013, Towards an Integrated Urban Development Framework. The intention was to promote vigorous public debate and engagement by putting forward available evidence and some of the most vexing urban development policy issues. Following the engagement and discussion phase a final version of the IUDF was approved by government in April 2016.

During that period, the Panel of Experts worked on eleven technical Background Research Reports: Demographic trends; Territorial dynamics of the economy; Rural-urban symbiosis; Infrastructure; Spatial resilience; State-owned enterprises (SOEs) and other public entities; Urban risk; Inter-governmental and fiscal relations; Social empowerment and inclusion; Existing policies in relation to the IUDF; and Urban safety. These are available upon request.

The Panel of Experts, in conjunction with the IUDF inter-departmental technical committee, produced the papers.

Panel of Experts
The Panel of Experts comprise of: Prof Peter Gotsch, Mr Graeme Gotz, Dr Ailsa Holloway, Prof Philip Harrison, Dr Lindile Ndabeni, Dr Vuyo Mahlati (deputy chairperson), Mr Pascal Moloi, Prof Edgar Pieterse (chairperson), Ms Wendy Ovens, Mr David Savage, Mr Rashid Seedat, Prof Mark Swilling, and Prof Ivan Turok.

The programme of work is overall led by Dr. Modjadji Malahlela, Chief Director at Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.